Establishing contacts with the European Law Students Association (ELSA, BRUSSEL, BELGIUM)

On February 18, 2020, the representatives of our university held on-line negotiations with the President of the European Association of Law Students Diomidis Afentoulis and the General Secretary of the European Association of Law Students Nana Gegia.

They spoke on behalf of the university in the negotiations:

– T.P. Smolkina, Vice Rector for Research and International Cooperation;

– A.T. Kabzhanov, Head of the Department of Legal Disciplines;

– K.T. Ibrahimova, Chairman of the Council of Young Scientists;

– Daniar Zhanabayev, Prime Minister of Student Self-Government “Bolashak” Republic, 4th year student of educational program “Foreign language: two foreign languages”;

– Yerasyl Zhumatayev, Minister of Legal and Political Culture and Anti-Corruption, 2nd year student of “Jurisprudence” academic program;

– Arman Medenov, Head of Legal and Political Culture Development Committee, 2nd year student of “Jurisprudence” academic program.

During the on-line meeting the main directions of joint work of our Academy with the named organization were discussed, the prospects of carrying out joint scientific projects, organization of academic mobility of students and teachers, the prospects of development of this organization in the territory of Kazakhstan, the invitation of young scientists from member countries of the Association for participation in scientific-practical conferences and forums were defined. The conversation lasted more than one hour. The priority tasks on joining our university in ELSA were defined. We very much hope that these negotiations will bring our relations with international partners to a new level.

Close information about ELSA

The European Law Students Association is an international, independent, non-political, non-profit, non-governmental organisation, managed and directed by law students. ELSA’s activities include a wide range of academic and professional events, which are organized in accordance with the stated vision of ELSA. The headquarters of this organization is located in Brussels, Belgium.

The history of this organization

Five law students from Austria, Hungary, Poland and West Germany founded ELSA on 4 May 1981. It claims to be the world’s largest independent association of law students and will be represented at nearly 375 law schools in 44 countries across Europe, with around 50,000 law students and young lawyers participating.

350 local ELSA university groups and 44 national groups, as well as an international council are fully managed by students. Like a small franchise, each group creates its own work plan according to the general goals of the association. Each group recruits and trains its own volunteer leaders and sells ELSA programs to academic and business communities. Combined with the university curriculum, ELSA prepares its members for their future professional life, especially when working in an international environment. ELSA’s philosophy is defined by the following statements regarding its vision, purpose and means:

Vision: “A just world in which human dignity and cultural diversity are respected”.

Purpose: “To promote legal education, mutual understanding and social responsibility among law students and young lawyers”.

Tools: To provide law students and young lawyers with opportunities to explore other cultures and legal systems in a spirit of critical dialogue and academic cooperation. Assisting law students and young lawyers to acquire international and professional qualifications. Encouraging law students and young lawyers to act for the public good.

In 2000, ELSA was granted Council of Europe membership status. This cooperation was further enhanced with the signing of the Partnership for Human Rights between the Council of Europe and ELSA in 2008.

Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe, is a patron of ELSA. He served as Prime Minister of Norway from 1996 to 1997 and as Foreign Minister from 2000 to 2001. Roberto Azevedo, Director-General of the World Trade Organisation, is the patron of the John H. Jackson Court Competition.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.